The latest feature that was added in WhatsApp allows users to track their friends who are members of the same group, in real time. It was to be expected since the company has been working on new features that were introduced in the beta version of the application for Android.
Soon, WhatsApp users will be able to revoke and edit sent messages on the Android version, as these features have already been tested on the iPhone beta version. It seems that the option to revoke/recall a message already appeared in WhatsApp version 2.17.25 and 2.17.26, which will allow users who change their mind after hitting Send, to revoke the message. In order to revoke a sent message, users will long press on it, but this will work only if the recipient hasn’t read the message yet. After that, they can edit text and resend it.
Aside from the recall/edit feature, WhatsApp is preparing another new feature. Users have reported that version 2.16.399 (Android) and 18.104.22.168 (iOS) have introduced Live Location Tracking, and this feature does exactly what its name suggests. If you are part of a group with many members, you can track them in real time, but even if this is some kind of stalking, this feature comes in handy when you’re meeting with someone at a certain location and you don’t know where it is. You can choose to track your friends for one minute, two minutes, more minutes or indefinitely, but if you don’t want your friends to know where you are at a given moment, you can disable the live streaming option.
If you install the latest version of WhatsApp for any of the two major platforms, you’ll see that the live location feature is disabled by default, and in order to benefit from it, you will need to enable it. At some point, Facebook, the owner of WhatsApp, has allowed users to find close-by friends, but eventually, the Nearby Friends was removed due to users’ privacy concerns.