WhatsApp claims that the new change was meant only to improve the ads on Facebook, but it seems that more and more users are trying to get rid of this kind of data sharing. We remind you that WhatsApp has also assured users that the company will NOT share, sell or give users’ phone numbers to advertisers.
If you are one of the users who don’t want their WhatsApp account (mobile phone number) to be shared with Facebook, then you are in luck, because today we will explain you how to do that.
However, before we tell you that, we also want to inform you that according to WhatsApp, no photos, messages or account information will be shared with Facebook or any of its family of apps for others to see.
How To Stop Sharing Your WhatsApp Account With Facebook
If you’ve just updated to the latest WhatsApp version and have received the new Terms of Service, then you will see at the end of the text that you have the ability to uncheck the “Share my WhatsApp account information with Facebook…” feature. After you uncheck it, you will just need to tap on the “AGREE” button and you’re done.
However, if you agreed to the Terms of Service without un-checking the option we’ve told you above, you still have 30 days to disable it by heading to the WhatsApp’s Settings->Account->Share my account info and disable it from there.
It seems that this feature has brought WhatsApp more problems than benefits and we think that in the future, the company will be somehow forced to permanently remove it from the application, as there are a good amount of users who are already looking for another mobile messaging application because of this.
Do you think that WhatsApp did wrong by sharing account information with Facebook?