Sharing is caring!

The announcement made by WhatsApp recently regarding the fact that they are planning to share some information (such as contact lists, usage data, phone numbers etc) with the company that owns them, namely Facebook, has raised many disputes and arguments. Thankfully, there is a way you can avoid the information transfer from one company to another, but it is not clear from the UI how should you do that.



First of all, you should take some measures when you see the update screen upon entering the app. You have to click on Read more… button at the bottom. After that, you will see another page with more information about the new update and now you will see at the bottom the box with “Share my WhatsApp information with Facebook”. Of course, you will have to uncheck it and then you will see a pop-up letting you know that the account info will not be forwarded to Facebook. Then you will be redirected to the homepage.

However, if you already agreed to the update regarding WhatsApp’s privacy policy, you can still undo this. The company offers 30 days after you clicked Agree to change the settings. In this case, you have to use the dots found on the upper right side of the screen, go to Settings and tap on Account. On the left you will find the Share my account info toggle, tap on it and you will see a pop-up asking you if you want WhatsApp not to share your data with the other company. Tap on “Don’t share” and that’s it.

Keep in mind that WhatsApp will still share some of the information with Facebook for apparently other purposes like an improved infrastructure, delivery systems, fighting spam, understanding how services work etc. However, if you changed your settings you can rest assured that Facebook will not use the data for suggesting friends or bringing ads.

Take your mobile photography game to the next level with this affordable clip-on lens kit from Xenvo. Comes with a macro lens and a super wide angle lens that easily clip onto your phone for professional-grade photos on the go.