You probably did not know this, but the widely used messaging app entitled WhatsApp has recently changed its terms and conditions and it will now be able to share some of your private information (such as your phone number) with Facebook. If you do not wish for that to happen and still enjoy both apps to the fullest, you should take the following steps.
Now, you’re probably wondering what type of account information can be shared between WhatsApp and Facebook. Mainly it will be your phone number and the last time you used the app. Messages or media that you’ve shared in your conversations will not be visible to Facebook due to WhatsApp’s end-to-end encryption feature. This feature only allows the two people who are conversing to actually see the messages.
At the same time, any of your info that is shared by WhatsApp will not be visible by Facebook users. For example, if your number is shared with Facebook, then it will not appear visible on your FB account.
Making better target ads is not the only reason why the two apps are now sharing your information. They also claim that this will help with fighting spam and abuse.
Of course, some of you may have no problem with this issue at all, but some of you may not want these two apps to share information about you so here is how you opt out of this situation.
Step 1. Launch WhatsApp on your phone;
Step 2. Go to Settings>> Account;
Step 3. Tap the check mark on the right of the ‘Share my account info’ panel;
Step 4. Tap ‘Don’t share’ if you want to disable it.
However, if you decide to do this, there will be no turning back as the option will be disabled forever. So you should think very well before you decide if it’s really worth it.
Take your mobile photography game to the next level with this affordable clip-on lens kit from Xenvo. Comes with a macro lens and a super wide angle lens that easily clip onto your phone for professional-grade photos on the go.