Sharing is caring!

Pokémon GO started as a beta test in Japan at the end of March, then the testing program was expanded to Australia, New Zealand and the US, ending on June 30. On July 6, the game was officially released, but Japan was not on the list and European countries had to wait a few more days because the servers crash due to the large number of players. Germany was the first European country which welcomed the game, then Pokémon GO arrived to Spain, Italy and Portugal and the UK. Now, fans from 26 other countries are able to play the game.

In short time after its release, the Pokémon GO has become a phenomenon and people from all over the world have been waiting anxiously for its arrival in their countries. This is a free location-based augmented reality mobile game that can be installed on iOS and Android smartphones and it allows players to capture Pokémon that appear on device screens, in the real world, then they will be trained and sent to fight other Pokémon. The game uses the device’s GPS to track virtual creatures that are caught on-screen, by throwing a ball at them.

Pokémon GO, which was developed by Nintendo, is even more popular than Candy Crush Saga, especially in the US, where people go out at night and wander the streets in search of Pokémon. Now, the game is available in 26 other European countries and this is the official list, in alphabetical order: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and Switzerland.

Fans in these countries are able to download Pokémon GO from iTunes and Google Play Store. It’s still not known when the game will be released in Japan, but France will be included soon.