Sharing is caring!

Google Earth will take you to places where you only dream of. This program will help you discover this beautiful planet, without even getting from your chair and leaving your house. All the magic happens in front of your eyes, with a few clicks. Google Earth is a virtual globe, map and geographical information program, which shows images obtained from satellites and it can be installed on applications running on Windows, OS X, Linux, Android and iOS. If you want to become a Google Earth, you will need to take into consideration our tips and tricks.

How To Measure Distances

If you want to find out the distance between two places, then click the ruler icon from the toolbar and in the window that will appear, you will have the option to set the measuring unit. Now, just click the starting point and head with the cursor to the other location. The program will calculate the distance from the two points and will provide you the result. If you don’t want the result to be calculated as a straight line, you’ll create a path to the second point.

Using Layers

You are allowed to use multiple layers in order to see information on the map that interests you. So, you’ll find these following layers in the bottom of the bottom left side of the screen: Weather, Roads and Borders. In addition, you can find out the postal code of the area or you can add more layers by clicking Earth Gallery from the top of the Layers section.

Old Maps Of Locations

This feature will send you back in time, meaning that it will show you how a certain location looked years ago and what changes it has suffered. You’ll zoom into an area and if there’s historical imagery of it, you’ll see an icon that looks like a clock, located at the bottom left side of the screen. You’ll click on the year and a slider will show you what was changed from that year, until the present.

Earth, Moon, Mars or Sky

Google Earth is not limited to showing images of our planet. By clicking on the button that looks like a little planet with a circle around it, you will see four options: Earth, Mars, the Moon, and sky. You can explore all of them.