Sharing is caring!

Mobile apps usage is on the rise and especially in the United States; millions of iPhone 6 users are increasingly depending on various apps to execute a wide range of functions.

Despite there being lots of apps meant to serve different purposes, the group that keeps attracting constant attention is instant messaging apps. Apps such as WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger, SnapChat, Google Hangouts and Skype, just to name but few, have taken over the world of communication.

However, this has not stopped the likes of iMessage and FaceTime, Apple’s in-house communications app, from taking their own share of the market. Many people still use iMessage to keep in touch with their friends and family, especially now that it comes as the default messaging app for those using iOS 8 and above. There is no doubt that you get encrypted protection when using Apple’s messaging app; however, there are ways you can use to improve the privacy you get when using iMessage to chat with friends on your iPhone.



As a result, we have gathered for you 5 top tips that you can make use of and improve your messaging privacy when using iPhone 6.

Enable Touch ID

iPhones are installed with a Touch ID feature to help with security as far as accessibility is concerned. By enabling this feature or even using the passcode security, you will be sure that you are the only one accessing your phone hence keeping all messages, including photos and other files extremely private.

Disable message previews

Another privacy measure you should consider taking when using iMessage on your iPhone is to disable message previews. In this way, no one can take a sneaky peek at your messages whenever they come in courtesy of the snippet that comes through the notification.

Disable read receipts

Just like with the case of messaging apps WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger, it is possible to choose to hide your read receipts such that your friend is unable to tell when you read their messages. This is even possible to activate for individual contacts rather than enabling it for all messages.

Automatically delete messages

In addition to freeing up space on your iPhone, automatically deleting messages will also ensure that no messages are available for anyone’s access. This option allows messages older than 30 days to be deleted automatically, but there is still room to manually delete messages once they arrive.

Manage messages on all Apple devices

If you have more than one Apple device and you use iMessage on all of them, the messages will also be available on these devices. As a way of ensuring that they are safe, make sure that you apply the above measures on a per-device basis. In this way, no message will remain on your iPad or Mac device once it is deleted from the iPhone.

Take your mobile photography game to the next level with this affordable clip-on lens kit from Xenvo. Comes with a macro lens and a super wide angle lens that easily clip onto your phone for professional-grade photos on the go.