Sharing is caring!

Why would you want to delete your WhatsApp account? Sure, sounds crazy, but for some using multiple chat services to stay in touch with friends and family starting to feel like a burden.

So, if you are thinking about abandoning your rarely used WhatsApp account and get rid of all the underlying data that has been gathering throughout the years, here is the quick and easy way to do it. The purpose of this article is to guide you, step-by-step through the account deletion process, inform you what really happens when you delete your account and present you a way to reactivate your account, if you ever change your mind, and restore all of your conversations and media.

Before we proceed, it’s important to remember that you must delete your account from within WhatsApp because the company’s support team cannot delete it for you at the moment and ensure that you have the latest version of WhatsApp installed.

What does deleting your account really do?



Your phone number is no longer associated with the main WhatsApp app, your account is removed from your contacts’ WhatsApp Favorites lists, your account is deleted from all WhatsApp groups, your WhatsApp messages and all media are deleted in the app, your service payment information is removed from WhatsApp servers.

If you think you might be coming back to WhatsApp at some point in the future, don’t forget to create a full backup of your chat history and media (WhatsApp Settings → Chats and Calls → Chat Backup → Back Up Now) prior to deleting your account. Or you can just enable Auto backup which will save your data to either iCloud or iTunes.

This is the step-by-step guide to delete your WhatsApp account:

Step 1: Launch WhatsApp on your iPhone.

Step 2: Tap on Settings and head into the Account section.

Step 3: Choose Delete My Account.

Step 4: Enter your phone number in the full international format to proceed.

Step 5: Finish the process by tapping Delete My Account at the bottom.

Step 6: You can now delete WhatsApp from your iPhone.

If you ever change your mind and want to reactive deleted WhatsApp account this is how you do it: first of all, install the app on your mobile phone. After that just follow the on-screen instructions to register your mobile phone number with the service. You will receive a six-digit verification code via SMS to activate your account.

If you want to restore your conversations and media is really simple. After verifying your phone number, follow the on-screen prompts to restore your chat history. The phone number used for backing up and restoring must be the same. In other words, you cannot restore the chat history from another WhatsApp account.

Take your mobile photography game to the next level with this affordable clip-on lens kit from Xenvo. Comes with a macro lens and a super wide angle lens that easily clip onto your phone for professional-grade photos on the go.