Being an iOS user, whenever you connect your PC to your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch in order to access the files on your iOS device, you’ll notice a common alert or a pop-up appearing on the screen of your device asking you to verify that you trust the connected PC. The alert usually says “Trust This Computer?” along with two options “Trust and “Don’t Trust.”

If you are sure to use the connected computer with the iOS device, you’ll tap on “Trust.” Upon tapping this option, the computer will be allowed to access the files on your device.

iPhone 6, iOS 9.0.1, iOS 9.0

Now, if you tap on the “Don’t Trust” option by mistake, it can be obviously reversed, but if you accidentally tap on “Trust” then disappointingly, there’s no undeniable straightforward way to reverse it or turn it around or as we can say, to “UnTrust” it. But luckily, you can undo and fix the “Trust” selection when you have connected your computer to an iOS device.

But before you do this, you must understand that there’s a little drwaback with the “resetting” thing of the trust certificates from iOS – you will typically end up with resetting the “Trust This Computer?” message/alert on your particular iDevice for all connected computers. In other words, this means that next time whenever you’ll connect your iDevice to any computer, it will give you the same “Trust” or “Don’t Trust” options again, although you had ‘trusted’ that specific computer previously.

This is not a lot of a trouble though, but it’s definitely worth noting. Moreover, you’ll have to reset all other location and privacy settings on your iOS device that you have customized earlier, so you need to be prepared to make some more changes to those settings once again.

Steps to ‘untrust’ all computers from your iOS:

If you’re using iOS 8 or later, you need to do this to untrust all computers:

  • Step 1: Go to “Settings” on your iOS device and then tap “General.”
  • Step 2: Tap on “Reset” and then on “Reset Location & Privacy.”
  • Step 3: Enter the passcode of your device and confirm that you want to reset all location and privacy settings on that device. This will then reset your location and privacy settings.
  • Step 4: You can also do this by going to Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings. This will reset your network setting.
  • Step 5: Exit “Settings” when you’re done.

These steps will reset all trusted computers (or untrust all computers) from any iOS device such as your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch having iOS 8 or later.

 

iOS 9.2 Beta 4If you wish to activate the “Trust This Computer?” message/alert again on your device while it’s connected to a computer, then what you need to do is simply plug in the device back into your computer using a USB cable and you will see same alert appearing on your device’s screen, allowing you to choose from the two options.

This feature is a new one that comes with the modern versions of iOS. Before iOS 8 and 9, users had to reset their iOS device to factory settings in order to reset the trust settings, or they had to search in the iTunes file system of the connected computer and obviously, both options were pretty meddling and burdensome for them.